Email marketing platforms for small business: seven compared at 5,000 contacts
Published Updated 13 min readBy the Rasket team

How we compared them
Most email marketing platforms for small business do the same core job: hold a list of contacts, let you design a campaign, send it, and handle the unsubscribes and complaints that come back. The differences that decide the bill and the workload are narrower. Seven marketing email platforms are compared here: Rasket, Mailchimp, Brevo, MailerLite, Klaviyo, ActiveCampaign and Constant Contact.
We make Rasket. That is the reason the method matters more than the verdict, so here it is in full. Every platform is scored on the same six things: the price at 5,000 contacts, the price once automations are included, the free tier, how far the automations go, whether an API and transactional email live in the same account, and whether text messages are part of the product. A last column says who each one suits. That column is our reading, not a vendor’s claim, and it is labelled as ours.
- One scenario, priced for everyone. 5,000 contacts, US dollars, billed monthly wherever the vendor publishes a monthly price. One vendor’s tier table publishes only annual-billed prices, so its cells say so.
- Emails as well as contacts. One vendor prices on emails sent rather than on contacts. For that one we assume a campaign a week, about 20,000 emails a month, and say so in the cell.
- Every competitor fact comes from the vendor’s own page. The superscript beside each name links to the pricing page its cells were read on. Where that page does not state something, the cell says “Not stated” rather than filling the gap from memory or a review site.
- Our own prices are computed, not typed. Rasket’s cells are drawn from the same price list the checkout charges, on the pricing page. The marketing add-on is sold on top of a paid plan, so the 5,000-contact price is the Pro plan plus the first contacts tier, not the tier on its own.
Last checked on 1 October 2026
Every competitor cell below was read on that date. Pricing pages change without notice, and some show a different currency depending on where you open them. If the date is months behind you, click through before you quote anything here.
What each costs at 5,000 contacts
The first column is the cheapest plan that holds 5,000 contacts. The second is the cheapest plan whose automations are not capped at a handful of steps, which is what most small businesses end up needing once a welcome series and an abandoned-cart reminder are running. The table scrolls sideways on a narrow screen rather than shrinking the text.
| Platform | Entry plan at 5,000 | With full automations | Free tier |
|---|---|---|---|
| Rasket source 1 | $45/mo: Pro $20 plus Marketing 5k $25 | $45/mo: Pro $20 plus Marketing 5k $25 | 1,000 contacts on the Free plan, campaigns included |
| Mailchimp source 2 | Essentials, $75/mo, 50,000 sends | Standard, $100/mo, 60,000 sends | 250 contacts and 500 sends a month |
| Brevo source 3 | Starter, $32/mo for 20,000 emails ($9 plus $23) | Standard, $69/mo for 20,000 emails ($18 plus $51) | Up to 300 emails a day |
| MailerLite source 4 | Comfort, $49/mo | Comfort, $49/mo (50 automations). Power, $69/mo, for unlimited | 250 subscribers and 2,500 emails a month |
| Klaviyo source 5 | Email, $100/mo, 50,000 emails | Email, $100/mo, 50,000 emails | 250 active profiles and 500 emails a month |
| ActiveCampaign source 6 | Starter, $99/mo billed monthly ($79/mo billed annually) | Plus, $179/mo billed monthly ($145/mo billed annually) | No free plan; a 14-day trial |
| Constant Contact source 7 | Lite, $68/mo billed annually | Premium, $170/mo billed annually | No free plan; a 14-day trial |
Read the two price columns together. At 5,000 contacts with automations included, Rasket is the lowest at $45 a month, with MailerLite four dollars behind. On the entry plan alone, the platform that prices on emails is cheaper than both if you send once a week, and becomes more expensive the more often you send: contact-priced plans do not change when you go from four campaigns a month to eight.
Two things the headline number does not show. Several plans carry a monthly send allowance tied to the contact count, and charge or upgrade you past it; the vendors that publish the allowance are quoted in the cells. And the two products with no free plan both offer a fourteen-day trial, which is enough to send a real campaign before you pay.
What each includes
The same seven, on what you get rather than what you pay. “API and transactional email” asks whether the receipts and password resets your website sends can live in the same account as your newsletter, with the same unsubscribe and complaint lists.
| Platform | Automations | API and transactional email | SMS | Best for (our read) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rasket source 1 | Included on every plan, Free too | Yes: campaigns and transactional sends share one key, one pipeline and one suppression list | No | Developers and small teams who send product email and campaigns from one account |
| Mailchimp source 2 | Essentials: up to 4 flow steps. Standard: up to 200 flows | Transactional email (formerly Mandrill) is a separate add-on | Add-on to paid plans, in select countries | Owners who want the best-known name and a large template library |
| Brevo source 3 | Standard: unlimited multi-step workflows. Not listed on Starter | Yes, on every plan: REST API, SMTP and outbound webhooks | Credits sold separately | Senders with large lists who mail rarely, since it prices on emails, not contacts |
| MailerLite source 4 | Free: 3. Comfort: 50. Power: unlimited | API and webhooks included, limited on Free. Transactional email is a separate product | Not stated | Newsletters and creators who also want a website and landing pages |
| Klaviyo source 5 | Campaigns and automated flows on the Email plan | Not stated | Built in and billed per message; $5 a month of messaging on Free | Online shops that want email and text messages driven by store data |
| ActiveCampaign source 6 | Starter: 5 actions per automation. Plus and up: unlimited | Transactional email is an add-on | Add-on | Teams that want automation and a sales CRM in one product |
| Constant Contact source 7 | Lite: 1 template. Standard: 3. Premium: custom automations | Not stated | 500 messages on Premium; an add-on from $10/mo on Lite and Standard | Local businesses and nonprofits that want live phone support and event tools |
The numbered sources, in table order. Ours is a path on this site; everyone else’s is their own page.
- Rasket · /pricing · read 1 October 2026
- Mailchimp · mailchimp.com · read 1 October 2026
- Brevo · www.brevo.com · read 1 October 2026
- MailerLite · www.mailerlite.com · read 1 October 2026
- Klaviyo · www.klaviyo.com · read 1 October 2026
- ActiveCampaign · www.activecampaign.com · read 1 October 2026
- Constant Contact · www.constantcontact.com · read 1 October 2026
Each platform in a paragraph
The tables give the facts. These paragraphs say what they add up to, in the same order, and each one names something that platform does better than we do.
Rasket
Rasket is an email platform built for developers that also runs campaigns. Contacts, segments, topics with a hosted preference page, a drag-and-drop editor and automations are on every plan, and the first 1,000 contacts are free. Its case is the second row of the table: the same account, key and pipeline send your transactional email and marketing email, so an unsubscribe or a complaint on a campaign is honoured by everything else you send, and one webhook endpoint hears about both. The Pro plan under the marketing add-on is not dead weight either: it carries 50,000 transactional emails a month for the receipts and resets your site sends. It loses on breadth, which has its own section below.
Mailchimp
The best-known name in the table. The free plan is 250 contacts and 500 sends a month, and Essentials at 5,000 contacts costs $75 a month, but its automations stop at four flow steps; Standard, at $100, is the plan with up to 200 flows. Transactional email is a separate add-on rather than part of the plan, and SMS is an add-on in select countries. Where it leads us: a far larger catalogue of templates and integrations, and years of documentation written by its users.
Brevo
Brevo prices on emails sent, not on contacts, which makes it the cheapest entry in the table for a business with a big list that mails rarely: $32 a month covers 20,000 emails on Starter. Automation workflows start on Standard, $69 at the same volume. Every plan includes transactional email with a REST API, SMTP and outbound webhooks, so it shares Rasket’s one-account argument. Where it leads us: SMS, WhatsApp and a sales CRM in the same product, and a free plan that sends up to 300 emails a day.
MailerLite
The closest to Rasket on price: $49 a month at 5,000 subscribers on Comfort, which includes 50 automations, and $69 on Power for unlimited. The free plan holds 250 subscribers and 2,500 emails a month. Its API and webhooks are included, though limited on Free, while transactional email is a separate product from the same company. Where it leads us: websites, landing pages, signup forms and paid newsletters, none of which Rasket builds.
Klaviyo
Built for online shops. The Email plan at 5,000 active profiles is $100 a month with 50,000 emails, and campaigns and automated flows are part of it; the free plan is 250 profiles and 500 emails a month. Text messages are built in and billed per message. Its pricing page does not say whether transactional email or the API are part of the plan, so the cell says “Not stated”. Where it leads us: store integrations and revenue attribution that a shop selling online will use every day.
ActiveCampaign
The most automation-led product here, and the most expensive at this size. Starter is $99 a month billed monthly at 5,000 contacts, with five actions per automation; Plus, with unlimited actions and landing pages, is $179. There is no free plan, only a fourteen-day trial. Transactional email and SMS are add-ons. Where it leads us: a sales CRM and pipelines alongside the marketing, and conditional content on its upper plans.
Constant Contact
The one that sells support: live onboarding and phone help on every plan. Its tier table publishes annual-billed prices only, so at 5,000 contacts Lite is $68 a month billed annually, Standard is $93.50, and Premium, the plan with custom automations, is $170. Premium includes 500 text messages a month. There is no free plan; a fourteen-day trial and a thirty-day refund instead. Where it leads us: event tools, social posting and people on the phone.
Deliverability: the rules every platform now has to meet
The outline we started from had a deliverability row: DMARC guidance, one-click unsubscribe and complaint handling. We did not score it platform by platform, because none of the seven pricing pages states those features in a form we could quote, and a row we cannot source is a row we will not print. What we can say is what every platform is now required to do, because the mailbox providers say it publicly.
Google’s sender guidelines require anyone sending more than 5,000 messages a day to Gmail accounts to authenticate with SPF and DKIM, publish a DMARC record, support one-click unsubscribe on marketing mail with a visible link in the body as well, and keep the spam rate reported in Postmaster Tools below 0.30%, recommending under 0.10%. One-click unsubscribe is the mechanism RFC 8058 defines: a List-Unsubscribe header carrying an HTTPS address and a List-Unsubscribe-Post header, so the mail app can unsubscribe the reader with one POST and no web page.
Whichever platform email marketing runs on, check four things in the trial:
- Your own domain, authenticated. The platform should send from your domain with DKIM signing and walk you through a DMARC record, not send from a shared domain of its own. See DKIM, SPF and DMARC.
- One-click unsubscribe on every campaign. Look at the headers of a test send for
List-Unsubscribe-Post. - Complaints that suppress. A recipient who marks a campaign as spam should never be mailed again, and that should hold for every message you send, not only the next campaign. See suppression lists.
- Consent you can prove. Import only people who asked to hear from you. Never upload a bought or scraped list; it is the fastest way to a spam rate over the line, and double opt-in is the cleanest proof.
On Rasket, Campaigns carry the RFC 8058 headers, add a footer with an unsubscribe link and your postal address to a body that has none, and write every choice to a consent ledger. A complaint suppresses the address for everything the team sends, and the domains page checks your SPF, DKIM and DMARC records and says what to fix.
Where Rasket loses
A comparison written by one of the contestants is only worth reading if it says where the author loses. Here is where we do.
- No landing-page builder. MailerLite, Brevo’s Standard plan and ActiveCampaign’s Plus plan list landing pages on their pricing pages. Rasket hosts a preference page for your subscribers and nothing else; a signup page lives on your own site and posts to the API.
- No SMS. Klaviyo builds text messages in, Constant Contact includes 500 on Premium, and most of the rest sell them as an add-on. Rasket sends email only.
- The newest product in the table. Every other platform here has years of third-party tutorials, agencies that know it and integrations built by other companies. Rasket has its own documentation and a shorter track record.
- The entry price, if you mail rarely. A business with a large list and one campaign a month pays less on a plan that prices on emails sent, and the Rasket marketing add-on needs a paid plan beneath it.
- Fewer integrations. There is no app store of e-commerce, CRM and webinar connectors. Rasket has an API, webhooks and an SMTP relay, which reach anything but ask somebody to write the glue.
If any of those is the deciding row for you, one of the others is the better choice, and the paragraph above tells you which.
How to choose the best email marketing platform for a small business
There is no best email marketing platform small business owners should all pick. There is the one whose rows match the four questions your business actually asks.
- Do you also send email from a website or an app? Order confirmations, password resets and booking reminders are transactional email, and marketing email is the newsletter. Keeping transactional email and marketing in one account means one sender reputation to look after and one unsubscribe list that both obey. If you do, the API row decides it. The difference is set out in transactional vs marketing email.
- How often do you send? Weekly or more often, a plan priced on contacts is cheaper; once a month to a large list, a plan priced on emails can be.
- Do you need a website, landing pages or text messages? If yes, choose a product that builds them rather than stitching a second tool on.
- Who will run it? A developer will want the API and webhooks; an owner doing it on a Sunday evening will want templates and a phone number to call.
With those answered, shortlist two, import a small list of people who asked to hear from you, and send the same campaign from both trials. Compare the reports an hour later. If Rasket is one of the two, the marketing email page is the overview, and sending a newsletter from the API is what the developer route looks like end to end.
Frequently asked questions
What is the cheapest email marketing platform for a small business?
It depends on how you count. At 5,000 contacts with automations included, Rasket was the lowest of the seven on the day we checked, at $45 a month, with MailerLite at $49. On the entry plan alone, a platform that prices on emails sent rather than contacts is cheaper if you send once a week, and dearer if you send more often.
Is there a free email marketing platform for small business?
Five of the seven have a free plan, and they differ mostly in size. Several stop at 250 contacts with a few hundred or a few thousand sends a month; Rasket includes 1,000 contacts and campaigns on its Free plan. Two have no free plan and offer a fourteen-day trial instead, which is long enough to send one real campaign before paying.
Why is Rasket's price the Pro plan plus an add-on?
Because marketing on Rasket is priced on contacts and sold on top of a paid plan. The first 1,000 contacts are included on every plan, Free too; beyond that, the contacts tier is added to a paid plan. So the 5,000-contact figure in the table is the Pro plan and the first contacts tier together, and the Pro plan also covers your transactional email.
Do I need transactional email in the same account as my newsletter?
Only if your website or app sends email of its own, such as receipts, booking confirmations or password resets. If it does, one account means one domain setup, one sender reputation and one unsubscribe and complaint list that both kinds of mail obey. If your only email is the newsletter, it is a row you can ignore.
How current are the prices in this comparison?
Every competitor price was read on the vendor's own pricing page on 1 October 2026, and the page prints that date above the tables. Pricing pages change without notice and some show a different currency depending on where you open them, so treat the date as part of the fact and click through before you quote a figure.
Which platform is best for an online shop?
A shop that sells online and wants email and text messages driven by its store data is the case one of the seven, Klaviyo, is built for, and its price at 5,000 profiles reflects that. A shop that mostly needs a newsletter and order emails from its own site can spend less on a platform that keeps transactional and marketing email in one account.
Sources
- Mailchimp marketing plans and pricing — Mailchimp, read 2026-10-01
- Brevo pricing plans — Brevo, read 2026-10-01
- Brevo plan prices, as its pricing page loads them — Brevo, read 2026-10-01
- MailerLite pricing — MailerLite, read 2026-10-01
- Klaviyo pricing — Klaviyo, read 2026-10-01
- ActiveCampaign pricing — ActiveCampaign, read 2026-10-01
- Constant Contact pricing and tiered fee schedule — Constant Contact, read 2026-10-01
- Email sender guidelines — Google, read 2026-10-01
- RFC 8058: Signaling One-Click Functionality for List Email Headers — RFC Editor, read 2026-10-01
Related
- Marketing email — An email marketing platform on the API you already send with: campaigns to contacts and segments, automations from your product's events, a brand-aware editor.
- Campaigns — An audience you own: contacts with typed properties, segments, topics people subscribe to, and campaigns sent through the same pipeline as your other mail.
- Automations — Workflows that run per contact: start on a custom event or a segment change, wait, branch, and send. Every run pins a version and is inspectable.
- Newsletter API: send campaigns from your code — Send a newsletter over an API in six calls: create a topic, add contacts with consent, build a segment, create the campaign, pass the gate and read the report.
- Transactional vs marketing email: how to send each — What separates transactional email from marketing email — the trigger, consent, unsubscribe headers and reputation — and how to send both from one API.